pass it on {04.10.08}

indefinite hiatus, thank you to all that have been reading the blog, please stay safe & sound.

Love, team cameracrowd

Tuesday, February 06, 2007

Au Revoir Simone

As Anne mentioned in the Voxtrot post below, Au Revoir Simone, an Indie/Pop trio from Brooklyn, NY will be touring with Voxtrot this summer. I've been meaning to write about this colourful trio since last summer when we started this blog but something always came up and they ended in the bottom pile of my posts. But I think now is the perfect time especially with a new album coming up and then a tour with Voxtrot.

Even if you haven't heard of Au Revoir Simone, after seeing one of their pictures you might assume, "beautiful and talented triplets". Hey that's what I thought! Sorry guys, these beautiful women aren't related at all. Actually the group consists of Erika Foster, Heather D'Angelo, and Annie Hart. The band started out with Erika Foster and Annie Hart meeting on a train ride home to New York City. On the ride home, they discovered that "they shared a common desire to form an all-keyboard band." And that's what happened, they started hanging out regularly to play music and along the way they picked up Heather D'Angelo and Sung Bin Park who left the band in early 2005. And the rest is history.

Their first album, which was considered a mini album, Verses of Comfort, Assurance & Salvation came out in 2005, where electro/pop fans like me got a taste of what three beautiful and talented girls who can sing and play keyboard sound like. With Au Revoir Simone, you get that soft female vocalists sound you so want, and the finger tapping beat that you can't avoid. And you multiply this by three!! To me Au Revoir Simone is what forest fairies would sound like if you hand them a keyboard during spring time and let them reveal their magical side.

Their second album titled The Bird of Music gets released in the U.S through Moshi Moshi Records on May 1st. The U.K and Japan get much earlier release dates than we do. Although you can buy the entire album digitally starting February 19th. But where's the fun in that?

Even though you can't wait to get your hands on a copy of The Bird of Music after hearing two songs from it, I suggest getting their first album first. It's the developing side of Au Revoir Simone, how they sounded in the beginning. I can tell you now, after hearing a couple of songs from The Bird of Music, Verses of Comfort, Assurance & Salvation is a bit calmer, kinda like an afternoon nap lullaby.

The Bird of Music
Moshi Moshi Records
5.1.07 (U.S)

Tracklist :

* The Lucky One
* Sad Song
* Fallen Snow
* I Couldn't Sleep
* A Violent Yet Flammable World
* Don't See The Sorrow
* Dark Halls
* Night Magestic
* Stars
* Lark
* The Way To There

Fallen Snow | Au Revoir Simone

Stars | Au Revoir Simone

Fallen Snow Video

Verses of Comfort, Assurance, And Salvation
Purchase C.D


* Through The Backyards
* Hurricanes
* The Disco Song
* Where You Go
* Back In Time
* The Winter Song
* And Sleep Al Mar
* Stay Golden

Hurricanes | Au Revoir Simone

Au Revoir Simone Official Site
Au Revoir Simone Myspace
Moshi Moshi Records
Au Revoir Simone Flickr

Europe Tour Dates

  • February 13 2007 : The Fly, London, England
  • February 16 2007 : Debaser, Stockholm, Sweden
  • February 17 2007 : Storan, Gothenburg, Sweden
  • February 18 2007 : Blå, Oslo, Norway
  • February 19 2007 : Loppen, Copenhagen, Denmark
  • February 20 2007 : Haus, Hamburg, Germany.
  • February 21 2007 : Paradiso, Amsterdam, Holland.
  • February 22 2007 : Botanique, Brussels, Belgium.
  • February 24 2007 : La Marchoquinerie, Paris, France
  • February 26 2007 : Hoxton Bar and Grill, London, England.
  • February 27 2007 : Nice and Sleazy, Glasgow, Scotland
  • February 28 2007 : Whelans, Dublin, Ireland
  • March 2 2007 : Studio 672, Cologne, Germany.
  • March 3 2007 : Bastard, Berlin, Germany.
  • March 4 2007 : Nato, Leipzig, Germany.
  • March 6 2007 : Atomic Cafe, Munich, Germany.
  • March 7 2007 : Casa 129, Milan, Italy.
  • March 9 2007 : Bad, Düdingen, Switzerland.


1 comment:

J said...

hey! there is an awesome video interview with au revoir simone on, check it out: